BRAVING Integrity

 

I have been pondering for a few days on ‘Integrity’ and how Brené Brown explains it in her talk The Anatomy of Trust. Integrity is another important part of being able to have a trusting relationship.

She says: “I cannot trust you and be in a trusting relationship with you if you do not come from a place of integrity and encourage me to do the same.” She then goes on to give her own definition of integrity:

  • choosing courage over comfort
  • choosing what is right over what is fun, fast and easy
  • practicing your morals not just preaching them.

The thing that immediately sprung to my mind is the prophet Muhammad (pbuh), because he was known as Al-Amin: the trustworthy. Even his enemies called him the trustworthy.

Screen shot 2015-11-25 at 21.57.39

 

I decided I wanted to draw a scene where someone is helping another person. Maybe someone assisting an elderly lady cross the road.Then I remembered my time living in London and the many homeless people I encountered. So this is how this drawing to into being.

Leave a Reply

