Mijn Limburg (short stories booklet)

limburg in vogelvlucht
“Limburg in vogelvlucht”, short story by: Hay van den Munckhof

Last month I have been working on illustrations for a booklet that will be published by our local Library Bibliotheek Maas en Peel in January/February 2016.

It’s part of a yearly event in the Netherlands initiated by the Dutch Author A.L. Snijders and organized by Nederland Leest . During this event around 90% of Dutch Libraries dedicate the month of November to the “short story” and give out free copies of a booklet with short stories written by  Dutch writers. This year is a bit special because the project is in its 10th year and each region will be submitting locally written short stories.

I feel humbled to have been asked to contribute to the booklet “Mijn Limburg” with illustrations for each story. It also includes a short story I wrote myself.

Read the short stories online here

These are the participants of the booklet:

Groepsfoto.jpg

Here is me with copies of my work hanging in the library:

12322641_10207502289451314_8122930907514108402_o

These are the illustrations for each story:

 

Below is my short story, to briefly summarize a translation: I describe how, after having been away for a decade I finally feel home in the town where I grew up.

20150927_185044 copy
“Home”, short story by: Isabella El-Hasan

Home

Ik was tien toen we er gingen wonen, in Limburg. Het dialect verstond ik meteen want ik groeide op in Duitsland maar thuis spraken we altijd Nederlands met mam. In mijn tienerjaren ervoer ik ons kleine dorp vaak als verstikkend… ik voelde me er nooit echt thuis.
Ik zie er ook niet echt Nederlands uit met een Jordaanse vader.Toen ik eindelijk de middelbare school af had, was ik snel weg, naar de grote stad… studeren in Maastricht en toen naar London!

Na zes jaar in Engeland, een stukgelopen huwelijk en met twee kleine kindjes was ik weer terug ‘oppe Ruiver’. En toen gebeurde het: voor het eerst voelde ik me thuis! Veilig en geborgen. Voor het eerst zag ik het. Zo heerlijk rustig, groen en schoon. De mensen groeten elkaar op straat, als je bij de Hema foto’s online bestelt, kun je ze meteen ophalen(!) Mensen zijn betrokken en zorgen voor elkaar.
Ik had nooit gedacht dat ik het niet erg zou vinden in een ‘I love Reuver’-T-shirt te lopen. Vandaar deze kleine ode aan ‘mijn Limburg’ :

 

Het is stil

hier, wiegen bomen in de wind, het koren danst

Tussen Venlo en Roermond daar ligt een plekje

Groen en schitterend,

in al haar seizoenen

Ich hub dich lief

Ik ben ‘home’

 


 

This song by Marco Borsato “Mooi” somehow really goes with the booklet, I’ve been listening to it often.

 

 

Edit 18 January 2016:

Click HIER om de korte verhalen bij elke tekening te lezen:

 

 

Leave a Reply

