DID YOU KNOW/ Fatima al-Fihri

Bismillah (in the name of God)fatima-al-fihri final

DID YOU KNOW/ Fatima al-Fihri

A few weeks ago I found out about Fatima al-Fihri (CE 800-880), the woman who founded the oldest university in the world, and it is still functioning as one today! It’s called Qarawiyyin and is located in Fez, Morocco.Read more about the university here: http://www.muslimheritage.com/article/al-qarawiyyin-mosque-and-university

Here you can ready more about Fatima: http://www.alfihri.eu/

Original + Sketches:

 

When I started to think about how to draw her I imagined her as an ancient superhero with her cape (replaced by her hijab) floating in the wind and her university in the background.

As a woman, reading her story really empowered me.She decided to invest her wealth in her local community and built a university.

If a women can achieve this in Islam, anyone trying to convince me my only place is in the house raising the kids can go and read about Fatima al-Fihri. I love being a mother and having time to raise my children is extremly important to me, but I also have other skills that i will use to contribute to my community and society at large.

Women are certainly oppressed, but I would argue it’s by men and not the religion itself. If we started living more according to the religion there would be more peace in my understanding.  If you look at Islam it is all about justice and equality and actually empowers women, holding them very high. Don’t get me wrong I am not saying:  you are wrong about oppression in Muslim countries, but rather: Islam does not teach to oppress.

 

 

Leave a Reply

