African woman praying

20160413_221736
‘African woman praying’ chalk-pastel on paper  11.69″ x 16.54″ (A3)

I remember growing up with this idea that Africa is a very dry place, brown, sandy, no water, lions, underfed children covered in flies, walking skeletons, mud huts, scary diseases..or the deep dangerous jungle with scary jaguars and man-eating tribes who dance into the night around a fire. That’s the stories we are being told, over and over again. Yes, there are many difficult issues on the continent of Africa but it’s beauty is undeniable. I am most familiar with West-Africa, in particular Senegal. The richness I have experienced there is amazing, the richness in community, culture and spirituality is incredible. It’s so important to travel and keep witnessing the beauty of our world.

I was listening to this music above whilst working on today’s blog-post

20160410_134819
original chalk-pastel drawing without smartphone edit

 

I edited the final drawing on my Smartphone with the drawing tool in the photo editor, here you can see the process:

 

I love African Wax print colours, they are always so bold and powerful:

I have shared this short video in a previous blogpost. I’m sharing it again because it served as inspiration for today’s drawing. It’s about this beautiful eco village in Senegal called Ndem:

 

Thanks so much for visiting my blog, please feel free to leave me feedback below, I love hearing how my drawings/posts affect you.

Wishing you a great day! See you again on Monday 🙂

Much Love, Salam

Isabella

8 thoughts on “African woman praying

  1. Dear Isabella, I do love the boldness of your lines and color. I took a look at the African wax print images online and they are so colorful and striking. I can now see your inspiration. I like your process for today’s beautiful art. Thanks also for the interesting narrative about Africa.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

