Delphine Diallo #dakart2016

Introducing the wonderful Delphine Diallo (photographer and visual artist). A graduate from the Académie Charpentier School of Visual Art in Paris in 1999, she worked in the music industry for seven years. Disillusioned by a world driven by mass consumption, she left her work environment and found refuge in Saint-Louis, Senegal, the hometown of her father. She discovered her extended family and started portraying them.

I wanted to express how she works from the heart when I drew on top of her photo (above) inspired by her work (below):

Screen shot 2016-05-09 at 13.57.10

She is exhibiting her work at Subabiennale as part of Dak’art 2016

13129314_940046706114553_1556979456_n

A great short video giving an impression of how she works as an artist:

I love her boldness and intuitive way, she empowers me with her courage and vision for women (that we should be together and believe in each other to believe in ourselves). I somehow sense Frida Kahlo when I look at her work..

Screen shot 2016-05-09 at 13.30.35Screen shot 2016-05-09 at 13.31.34

Frida Kahlo (selfportrait as Tehuana):

paint-1432071125_b

Back to Africa (click on the photo’s to be directed to her website):

Screen shot 2016-05-09 at 12.09.48.png
screenshot from website> Back to Africa

Also make sure to follow her Instagram feed

Screen shot 2016-05-09 at 08.10.25
Instagram @delphinediallo

 

She published a very inspiring book called The Gift and fundraised $ 15,846 via kickstarter in order to do this!

Screen shot 2016-05-09 at 11.53.49
screenshot from her website

Below is a short video which I love:

Practicing, changing, learning… Thanks to master#shifuyanming #inneringerring " Knowledge in martial arts actually means self-knowledge. A martial artist has to take responsibility for himself and accept the consequences of his own doing. The understanding of Kung-fu is through personal feeling from movement to movement in the mirror of the relationship and not through a process of isolation. To be is to be related. To isolate is death. To me, ultimately, martial arts means honestly expressing yourself. Now, it is very difficult to do. It has always been very easy for me to put on a show and be cocky, and be flooded with a cocky feeling and feel pretty cool and all that. I can make all kinds of phoney things. Blinded by it. Or I can show some really fancy movement. But to experience oneself honestly, not lying to oneself, and to express myself honestly, now that, my friend, is very hard to do." #brucelee

A post shared by thegiftny@gmail.com (@delphinediallo) on

I can make all kinds of phoney things. Blinded by it. Or I can show some really fancy movement. But to experience oneself honestly, not lying to oneself, and to express myself honestly, now that, my friend, is very hard to do.

BRUCE LEE

More art coming your way whilst I’m following the Dak’art Biennale taking place in Senegal right now! Have a look at my previous post: https://bellaelhasan.wordpress.com/2016/05/09/the-city-in-the-blue-daylight-dakart-2016/

Thanks so much for visiting

Love, Salam

Isabella

Leave a Reply

