Love is real

screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-22-03-30
“Homeless”, digital drawing on photo of chalk pastel drawing

This age of self-promotion is really something and the effects should not be underestimated. The way reality and the virtual realm are merging is kind of daunting. Personally I’m a very active user of Instagram and Facebook (bit less of Twitter, and Snapchat has just passed me by..let alone all the other apps out there) But the way we constantly need to engage in public life is so exhausting and against our original, natural way of life…

The internet lets you live multiple lives if you wish, many identities, many communities… all so abstract

 

Screen Shot 2016-11-20 at 22.10.36.png

Sometimes I long to be small again, not a worry in the world, not aware of social media, selfies and all that.. I love seeing that with my children, they are just so present and they force me constantly to be in the present with them, but the internet is doing the opposite, constantly pulling me away from this moment..constant distraction.

Screen Shot 2016-11-20 at 22.16.18.png

Drawing helps me to focus on one thing at a time, it puts me in a meditative state.img_20161114_11273620161115_094522

img_20161115_102305
Chalk pastel drawing combined with a few digital lines on top + a smug Instagram filter

I love how Louis CK describes the negative impact of cell phones :

The longing for connection has never been stronger I think, many of us are so cut off from the communities we live in because of technology. We don’t stop anymore to talk to one another.

Next time you see a person sleeping rough you may wanna not just drop a coin in their cup but have a chat. How’s your day been?  To feel seen and heard, to feel part of your community is so important. We all have a part to play in that.

 

Thanks for stopping by! Feel free to leave feedback or questions, I shall be back with a new post next Monday.

Much Love, Salam

Isabella

Leave a Reply

