Tears on a cloth – Day 6

Hooray! my daughter has recovered from her chickenpox, so I’m back on the digital drawing challenge.

DAY 6 —

coveredtears
Tears on a cloth, Digital Drawing, Isabella El-Hasan 2017

I wanted to share the process behind this one, I started drawing (digital) on a photo of a chalk pastel drawing, just as an experiment, to see how I could enhance it a bit, brighten up the colours etc:

2015-09-13 15.02.03
Apples (original) chalk pastel drawing A3, Isabella El-Hasan 2015
appels digital
Appels (digitally enhanced) Isabella El-hasan 2017

 

Whilst I was working on it, I looked at my screen and noticed the reflection of a painting hanging on my wall:

digital merge appel bamba

(this is the painting on the wall reflecting on the screen, click on it to go to the original post for it)

20160229_123156

Leading me to drawing ‘Tears on a cloth’, reflecting on the fact that we seem to find it hard to see others as equals, ‘they are not like us’  ..less human..

We (including me) are often not even aware of having this complex of superiority, feeling better than another person or group of people. I find it interesting that (in my understanding) the original sin in Islam is Arrogance. One of my favorite passages in the holy Qur’an is:

“O mankind, indeed We have created you from male and female and made you peoples and tribes that you may know one another. Indeed, the most noble of you in the sight of Allah is the most righteous of you. Indeed, Allah is Knowing and Acquainted.” 

source: https://quran.com/49/13

We are being brainwashed through the media’s portrayal of Muslim women, they are shown as dumb because they choose to be oppressed. Or as weak because they let men dictate what to wear. Or as helpless… But things are never black and white like the media pretend them to be. I can’t help feeling that the constant negative footage about Islam is feeding into the fact that we are allowing Muslims to be treated as less…

coveredtears
Tears on a cloth, Digital Drawing, Isabella El-Hasan 2017

 

Looking forward to see you tomorrow!

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Peace x Love

Isabella

 

 

